9. Future Islands – Singles

“SIngles” by Future Islands

Country: US
Release date: 24 March 2014
Label: 4AD

“As it breaks, the summer will wake
But the winter will wash what is left, of the taste
As it breaks, the summer will warm
But the winter will crave what has gone
Will crave what has all
Gone away”

The above lines are the chorus to “Seasons (Waiting On You)”, which was picked as track of the year by Pitchfork, Spin, and NME. This comes as no surprise. “Singles” is solely composed of super tight productions by keyboardist/programmer Gerrit Williams matched by equally well performed and amazingly passionate vocals by singer Samuel T. Herring (he even treats you to some growling here and there). Simply a fantastic synth induced pop record from start to finish. The quality of the stuff coming out of 4AD Records lately is mindblowing.

“Seasons (Waiting On You)” (official music video)

“A Dream Of You And Me” (official music video)

“Sun In The Morning” (from 4AD Sessions)

Play on Spotify

Visit Future Islands’ website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>